Spark Leadership

Empower, Educate, and Execute, these are three characteristics that I pulled from the Spark Leadership Program. While participating in the activities I was taught more of the style in how I lead and how I lead others. Spark Leadership was a program where I was able to connect with people across campus and collaborate with them to better develop myself as a leader and it was the first time where everyone in my group was not in LAS so it offered an outside perspective.

The first characteristic which I learned was Empower. What this means is to empower others to achieve there goals and help empower people to make a difference. Spark touched on the topic of Sympathy vs Empathy which I think touches great on empowering because understanding the people and being able to connect with them will allow you to do this.

The next characteristic is educate. This one was relevant to every person present because we all had the goal of educating ourselves to be better leaders on campus. The education portion was the entire program in itself because it taught individuals about themselves and about how to work with others. One activity that educated people was the personality color activity because it helped people identify themselves which when you do that you can then better understand how to help others around you.

The last characteristic I learned from Spark was Execute. This means taking what was taught and what I was introduced and actually applying it to my life and executing the theory behind it. Execute is the most important because it is what most people lack and that is because most people can not follow through with things taught to them. Execute is key to the success of anything.

Spark Leadership is a program that much of the material may be repetitive but the material is all things a individual should know and should be living by.

Leave a comment